Actu Africa

Women who changed the African basketball narrative in 2021

Temps de lecture : 2 mn 🕗

ABIDJAN (Cote d’Ivoire) – African basketball has been experiencing so many positive changes in recent times, and the year 2021 will enter the history books as the moment when women made their presence felt tremendously in the game on the continent.

From taking top basketball operation jobs, head coaching roles, to refereeing at top level and success on the basketball court, women played huge roles in the progression of African basketball over the past twelve months.

And here’s a look back at their contribution to the game in Africa in 2021.

Although Nigeria had a disappointing Tokyo 2020 campaign, the D’Tigress became the first team to win three straight Women’s AfroBasket in the last three decades, a feat only achieved by Senegal in 1970s.

The Nigerians haven’t lost an official game on the continent since the Women’s AfroBasket 2015 Semi-Finals when lost to host Cameroon. Since then, the best team on the continent went to establish an 18-0 winning streak record.

Joining Nigeria’s rise on the basketball court were Mali.

Mali not only became the first African team to reach the knock-out stages at the FIBA U19 Women’s Basketball Cup  in early August in Hungary, but they also went on to reach the Semi-Finals, a fact that, somehow, echoed their men counterpart who reached the U19 Basketball World Cup two years previously.

And much of Mali’s success was owed to the exceptional Sika Kone. The 19-year-old, who was named to the to All-Tournament team, was a handful for every opposing defense and finished as the tournament’s leading scorer and rebounder with an eye-popping 19.7 points and 14.8 rebounds per game.

With more and more players devoting more time to the game at different capacities, a handful of former players took a central stage at Women’s AfroBasket 2021 in September in Yaounde. They showed that being retired from the game doesn’t necessarily end their connection to the game.

Six-time Women’s AfroBasket participant and two-time MVP Nacissela Mauricio, for instance, served as the team manager of the Angolan national and former Kenya national team captain Silalei Shani became the first former Women’s AfroBasket player to commentate the tournament for FIBA TV.

A remarkable moment came from North Africa when Egypt’s Sara Gamal El-Sharnouby, a former player turned-referee, became the first Arab and African to officiate in the 3X3 Women’s Olympics at Tokyo 2020.

One of the biggest storylines in African basketball this year was written by Australian Liz Mills, who became the first woman to coach a men’s team at Africa’s premier basketball tournament, the AfroBasket.

C, a former Zambia and Cameroon assistant coach, took the reins of Kenya in the second round of the 2021 AfroBasket Qualifiers, before helping Team Morans at the 16-nation tournament in Kigali, Rwanda.

Off the court, the NBA Africa named Gbemisola Abudu as Vice President & Country Head of Nigeria, where the league will open its third office on the continent in early 2022.

According to the NBA, “Abudu, an accomplished entrepreneur, business leader, luxury marketing expert and social activist with 17 years of experience developing businesses, brands and human capital in Nigeria, the Middle East and the U.S., will lead NBA Africa’s new office in Lagos and report to NBA Africa CEO Victor Williams.”


FIBA

Facebook Comments

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Les plus populaires

To Top

Actu Africa

Les femmes qui ont le plus influencé le basket africain en 2021

Temps de lecture : 2 mn 🕗

ABIDJAN (CĂŽte d’Ivoire) – Le basket africain vit une trĂšs belle pĂ©riode depuis quelques annĂ©es et l’annĂ©e 2021 a Ă©tĂ© marquĂ©e par une prĂ©sence accrue des femmes dans le basket continental.

Entre des nominations à des postes clés au niveau administratif, sur les bords du terrain comme coachs, sur le terrain comme arbitres, le rÎle de ces femmes est allé grandissant et grùce à elles, le basket féminin africain a énormément progressé ces 12 derniers mois.

Nous avons choisi de revenir sur celles qui ont le plus contribuĂ© Ă  l’essor du basket fĂ©minin africain durant l’annĂ©e Ă©coulĂ©e.

MĂȘme si le Nigeria a Ă©tĂ© dĂ©cevant aux JO de Tokyo 2020, les « D’Tigress » sont devenues les premiĂšres Africaines Ă  remporter trois Ă©ditions consĂ©cutives du FIBA Women’s AfroBasket au cours des trois derniĂšres dĂ©cennies, une performance seulement rĂ©ussie auparavant par le SĂ©nĂ©gal dans les annĂ©es 1970.

Les NigĂ©rianes n’ont plus perdu le moindre match officiel sur le continent depuis la dĂ©faite contre le Cameroun en demi-finales du FIBA Women’s AfroBasket 2015. Ainsi, elles en sont dĂ©sormais Ă  18 victoires de suite.

coinpayu

Le Mali est l’autre nation qui s’est illustrĂ©e sur les terrains de basket depuis quelque temps.

Le Mali n’est pas uniquement devenu le premier pays d’Afrique Ă  se qualifier pour la phase Ă  Ă©limination directe de la Coupe du Monde FĂ©minine U19 FIBA, en aoĂ»t en Hongrie, il s’est en plus hissĂ© dans le dernier carrĂ© de la compĂ©tition, Pour rappel, la sĂ©lection masculine U19 malienne avait elle disputĂ© la finale de la Coupe du Monde U19 FIBA en 2019.

Les Maliennes doivent une fiĂšre chandelle Ă  l’exceptionnelle Sika Kone. La jeune femme de 19 ans, nommĂ©e dans le « 5 majeur de la compĂ©tition », a Ă©tĂ© un danger constant pour ses adversaires, finissant meilleure marqueuse du tournoi avec 19.7 points de moyenne, auxquels elle a ajoutĂ© 14.8 rebonds par match.

Quelques anciennes joueuses ont dĂ©cidĂ© de s’impliquer diffĂ©remment dans leur sport favori. Le FIBA Women’s AfroBasket 2021 – qui a eu lieu Ă  YaoundĂ© (Cameroun) en septembre – a permis Ă  certaines d’entre elles de prouver qu’une carriĂšre pouvait se prolonger ailleurs que directement sur le terrain.

Sextuple participante et double MVP de la compĂ©tition continentale, Nacissela Mauricio a par exemple occupĂ© le poste de directrice de l’Ă©quipe nationale d’Angola, tandis que l’ancienne capitaine de la sĂ©lection kenyane est elle devenue la premiĂšre ancienne participante au FIBA Women’s AfroBasket Ă  commenter le tournoi sur FIBA TV.

Un autre temps forts de l’annĂ©e est Ă  mettre au crĂ©dit de l’Égyptienne Sara Gamal El-Sharnouby : ex-joueuse devenue arbitre, elle a Ă©tĂ© cet Ă©tĂ© la premiĂšre Arabe et Africaine Ă  officier dans le Tournoi Olympique FĂ©minin de 3×3 Ă  Tokyo 2020.

L’une des plus belles histoires de l’annĂ©e a Ă©tĂ© Ă©crite par l’Australienne Liz Mills, devenue la premiĂšre femme Ă  coacher une Ă©quipe nationale masculine dans un FIBA AfroBasket.

Mills, ancienne assistante coach de la Zambie et du Cameroun, a repris les commandes de la sĂ©lection kenyane au second tour des Éliminatoires du FIBA AfroBasket 2021, parvenant ensuite Ă  qualifier son Ă©quipe pour le tournoi continental Ă  16 nations organisĂ© Ă  Kigali (Rwanda).

En marge des terrains, NBA Afrique a nommĂ© Gbemisola Abudu comme Vice-PrĂ©sidente  & responsable du Nigeria, oĂč la ligue ouvrira son troisiĂšme bureau sur le continent au dĂ©but 2022.

La NBA commente : « Abudu est une entrepreneuse accomplie, une cheffe d’entreprise, une experte en marketing de luxe et une activiste sociale comptant plus de 17 ans d’expĂ©rience Ă  dĂ©velopper des entreprises, des marques et le capital humain au Nigeria, au Moyen-Orient et aux USA. Elle dirigera le nouveau bureau de NBA Afrique Ă  Lagos et elle rendra des comptes Ă  Victor Williams, Directeur GĂ©nĂ©ral de NBA Afrique. »


FIBA

Facebook Comments

coinpayu
Click to comment

Laisser un commentaire

Les plus populaires

To Top