AFROBASKET WOMEN

Senegal, Mali, Cameroon, Nigeria off to winning start of Women’s AfroBasket 2021

Temps de lecture : 2 mn 🕗

YAOUNDE (Cameroon) – All four groups top-seeded teams got off to a winning start of the opening games of the 26th edition of FIBA Women’s AfroBasket on Saturday at Palais Polyvalent des Sports in Yaounde, Cameroon.

Group C top seeded side and 2017 and 2019 runner-up Senegal began the day in an amazing fashion with a comfortable 100-31 points run-over hapless Guinea.

Senegal, Africa most decorated women team with eleven titles, did not leave anyone in doubt as to their readiness to challenge for the African title they last won in 2015 here in Yaounde as they dominated all four quarters (25-10, 23-09, 23-08, 29-04) to send a warning signal to other would-be contenders.

coinpayu

Yacine Diop

Yacine Diop led the Senegalese campaign with 19 points, 8 rebounds, 2 assists and and an efficiency rating of 18.

The MVP of the FIBA U18 Women’s African Championship was joined in double figures by the quartet of Lena Niang (14), Ndeye Fatou Ndiaye (13), and Maimouna Diarra who made the last basketball to take her side points haul to 100 with ten points.

Mali, the third-placed in the 2019 edition of the tournament,  became the second team to reach the hundred-point mark of the opening day when the Coach Joaquin Brizuela-tutored side handed Tunisia a 101-39 defeat.

coinpayu

Djeneba N’Diaye propelled the Malian quest for glory with 18 points, five assists, six steals with the best efficiency rating of 22. 

The winners of the Women’s AfroBasket 2007 dominated from start to finish, never giving their opponents a chance to contest the game.

Mali proved too much for Tunisia in the opening day of the Women’s AfroBasket 2021

The trio of Sika Kone, Assetou Traore and Mariam Coulibaly contributed 40 points with Kone posting a double-double figure of 14 points and 11 rebounds, Traore added 14 points and six rebounds while Coulibaly contributed 12 points and six rebounds for their side opening Group D win.

In the third game of the day, host Cameroon outscored a defiant Kenya side 39-33 at the break, before signing off with a comprehensive 74-50 victory.

Marina Paule Ewodo led the Cameroonian with 16 points, 7 rebounds and efficiency rating of 21, Dulcy Fankam was fantastic on both ends of the court with a double-double performance of 15 points and 11 rebounds while Marguerite Effa justified her inclusion by contributing 12 points and six rebounds.

Nigeria extended their Women’s AfroBasket winning streak to 18-0 after beating Mozambique. Nigeria’s last defeat in African in October 2015 in Yaounde

In the last game of the night, defending champion Nigeria were put to a big test as the four-time champion had to dig deep to overcome Mozambique with a 67-50 points victory in the first game of Group B.

Reigning MVP Ezinne Kalu proved once again while she is one of the best point guard on the continent at the moment as she led Nigeria with 17 points, four rebounds and five assists, while captain Adaora Elonu added 13 points and seven rebounds for the defending champion all important win.


FIBA

Facebook Comments

coinpayu
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Les plus populaires

coinpayu
To Top

AFROBASKET WOMEN

Le Sénégal, le Mali, le Cameroun et le Nigeria démarrent bien l’AfroBasket Women’s 2021

Temps de lecture : 2 mn 🕗

YAOUNDE (Cameroun) – Les quatre équipes têtes de série ont connu un départ victorieux des matchs d’ouverture de la 26e édition du FIBA Women’s AfroBasket, samedi au Palais Polyvalent des Sports de Yaoundé, au Cameroun.

La tête de série du Groupe C et le finaliste 2017 et 2019 du Sénégal a commencé la journée de manière incroyable avec une confortable avance de 100 à 31 points sur la malheureuse Guinée.

Le Sénégal, équipe féminine la plus décorée d’Afrique avec onze titres, n’a laissé aucun doute sur sa volonté de se battre pour le titre africain qu’il a remporté pour la dernière fois en 2015 ici à Yaoundé alors qu’il a dominé les quatre quarts (25-10, 23-09, 23-08, 29-04) pour envoyer un signal d’avertissement aux autres prétendants.

Yacine Diop

Yacine Diop a mené la campagne sénégalaise avec 19 points, 8 rebonds, 2 passes décisives et une note d’efficacité de 18.

Le MVP du Championnat d’Afrique féminin FIBA U18 a été rejoint à deux chiffres par le quatuor Lena Niang (14), Ndeye Fatou Ndiaye (13) et Maimouna Diarra qui a mit le dernier panier pour porter son total de points à 100 avec dix points. .

Le Mali, troisième de l’édition 2019 du tournoi, est devenu la deuxième équipe à atteindre la barre des cent points de la journée d’ouverture lorsque l’équipe entraînée par Joaquin Brizuela a infligé à la Tunisie une défaite 101-39.

Djeneba N’Diaye a propulsé la quête de la gloire malienne avec 18 points, cinq passes décisives, six interceptions avec la meilleure cote d’efficacité de 22.

Les gagnantes du Women’s AfroBasket 2007 ont dominé du début à la fin, ne donnant jamais à leurs adversaires une chance de disputer le match.

Le Mali a été un peu too much pour la Tunisie lors de la journée d’ouverture du Women’s AfroBasket 2021

Le trio de Sika Koné, Assetou Traoré et Mariam Coulibaly a combiné 40 points avec Kone qui a affiché un double-double de 14 points et 11 rebonds, Traoré a ajouté 14 points et six rebonds tandis que Coulibaly a contribué avec 12 points et six rebonds pour leur équipe  pour gagner le match d’ouverture du groupe D.

Lors du troisième match de la journée, l’hôte du Cameroun a dominé une équipe kenyane provocante 39-33 à la pause, avant de signer avec une victoire complète de 74-50.

Marina Paule Ewodo a mené la Camerounaise avec 16 points, 7 rebonds et une note d’efficacité de 21, Dulcy Fankam a été fantastique des deux côtés du terrain avec une performance double-double de 15 points et 11 rebonds tandis que Marguerite Effa a justifié son inclusion en contribuant à 12 points. et six rebonds.

Le Nigeria a prolongé sa séquence de victoires consécutives au FIBA AfroBasket Women’s à 18-0 après avoir battu le Mozambique. Dernière défaite du Nigeria en Afrique en octobre 2015 à Yaoundé

Lors du dernier match de la soirée, le champion en titre du Nigeria a été mis à rude épreuve alors que le quadruple champion a dû creuser profondément pour vaincre le Mozambique avec une victoire de 67-50 points lors du premier match du groupe B.

La MVP en titre Ezinne Kalu l’a prouvé une fois de plus alors qu’elle est l’une des meilleures meneuses de jeu du continent en ce moment alors qu’elle menait le Nigeria avec 17 points, quatre rebonds et cinq passes décisives, tandis que la capitaine Adaora Elonu a ajouté 13 points et sept rebonds pour le champion en titre. Une victoire importante.


FIBA

Facebook Comments

Click to comment

Laisser un commentaire

Les plus populaires

To Top