UConn men’s basketball center Adama Sanogo named one of five finalists for Jabbar Award


Temps de lecture : 1 mn 🕗

Adama Sanogo is considered one of the top five players at perhaps the most competitive position in college basketball this season.

Sanogo, the UConn men’s basketball team’s 6-foot-9 sophomore, has been named one of the five finalists for the 2022 Kareem Abdul Jabbar Center Award, presented annually to the top center in men’s college basketball

Sanogo is averaging 14.8 points and a team-leading 8.5 rebounds per game. In Big East games only, he leads the conference in rebounding at 9.2 per game and is 10th in scoring with a 14.6 average. He also leads the Big East in field goal percentage (51.0%), ranks fourth in blocked shots (2.1) and second in offensive rebounding (3.8).

The other four finalists for the award are Auburn’s Walker Kessler, Gonzaga’s Drew Timme, Kentucky’s Oscar Tshiebwe and Illinois’ Kofi Cockburn.

A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates in November, which was narrowed to 10 candidates in late January and now just five finalists. This month, the finalists will be presented to Abdul-Jabbar and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.

The winner of the 2022 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Naismith Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on March 4 on www.hoophallawards.com.

The winner of the Jabbar Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five: the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award and the Karl Malone Power Forward Award, in addition to the Women’s Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Jabbar Award include two-time winner Luka Garza, Iowa (2020-21), Ethan Happ, Wisconsin (2019), Angel Delgado, Seton Hall (2018), Przemek Karnowski, Gonzaga (2017), Jakob Poeltl, Utah (2016) and Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin (2015).

Source: CT Insider

Facebook Comments
Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Les plus populaires

To Top