Line up confirmed for FIBA U19 Women’s Basketball World Cup 2023 in Spain


Temps de lecture : 1 mn 🕗

MADRID (Spain) – The path to the FIBA U19 Women’s Basketball World Cup 2023 trophy has been determined after the groups for the 15th edition of the event were confirmed in Monday’s draw in Madrid, Spain.

Following the announcement that this event will be the first ever official FIBA competition to use an innovative glass flooring court, the 16 teams were divided into four groups of four teams each.


The results of the draw are as follows:
Group A: Argentina, Spain, Australia and France
Group B: Mali, Germany, Chinese Taipei and USA
Group C: Japan, Lithuania, Brazil and Italy
Group D: Egypt, Canada, China and Czech Republic

All 16 teams participating in the event will advance to the competition’s Final Phase with a single-elimination format in place from the Round of 16 onwards.

The teams from Group A will face teams from Group B, based on standings within these groups (1st vs 4th – 2nd vs 3rd) and teams from Group C will face teams from Group D.

Five different countries have won the FIBA U19 Women’s Basketball World Cup since its inception in 1985, with the reigning champions USA leading the field with nine titles, including eight of the last nine editions. USA have defeated Australia in the last two Finals of the competition.

The draw was performed by women’s basketball legends Amaya Valdemoro of Spain and Sonja Vasic of Serbia.

The 2023 edition of the tournament will take place from June 15 – July 23 in Madrid, Spain.



Facebook Comments

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Les plus populaires

To Top