Mali team

Draw results in for FIBA AfroBasket 2021 Qualifiers

Temps de lecture : 1 mn 🕗

KIGALI (Rwanda) – The draw ceremony for the FIBA AfroBasket 2021 Qualifiers took place at the Kigali Arena on Friday.

Seven zones will play Pre-Qualifiers in five groups in January 2020 across the continent with the five winners progressing to the next stage of the qualification process where they will join the 15 teams that took part in the FIBA AfroBasket 2017 in Senegal and Tunisia.

These 15 teams that have automatically made it to this stage include Angola, Cameroon,Central African Republic, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo,  Egypt, Guinea, Mali, Morocco, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Tunisia and Uganda.

The 20 teams that will take part in the qualification process found out their opponents for the start of the Pre-Qualifying campaign for the next edition of FIBA Africa’s flagship event.

The teams were drawn into five groups of four teams each as follows:

Group A: Tunisia, Central African Republic, DR Congo, winner of Zone 6 & 7

Group B: Senegal, Angola, Mozambique, winner of Zone 5

Group C: Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Guinea, winner of Zone 4

Group D: Nigeria, Mali, Rwanda, winner of Zones 1 & 2

Group E: Morocco, Egypt, Uganda, winner of Zone 3

In each group, the teams will play two tournaments that will take place in three international windows.

Groups A, C and E will play from February 17-25, 2020 with the other two starting their campaign in the next window from November 23 – December 1, 2020 at venues yet to be determined.

All the five groups will then play in the Final Phase from February 15-23, 2021 with the top three teams from each group over the two legs qualifying automatically to the FIBA AfroBasket 2021 to be held in Rwanda.



Facebook Comments
Draw results in for FIBA AfroBasket 2021 Qualifiers
Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Les plus populaires

To Top