NCAAW

” She’s not afraid of anything ” : Caitlin Clark, the rising star of American basketball, breaks all records

Clarck 1

Temps de lecture : 11 mn 🕗

American player Caitlin Clark continues to make a splash at the March Madness, the final American college tournament, before preparing to join the professional circuit. Description of the phenomenon who plays all her matches to sold-out crowds.

The player of all records

Already the NCAA’s top scorer, on February 15 the Iowa Hawkeyes’ point guard broke the American college championship scoring record for both men and women, previously held by Pete Maravich (3,667 points).Against Ohio State (93-83), the 22 year-old knocked off the Louisiana University legend’s record, despite a game with a slight lack of address (35 points at 10/26 on the shot).

Lors de la March Madness 2024, the final tournament of American college basketball, Clark also made a name for herself in the first round with her Iowa State team, where she has played for the past four years: 27 points, 8 rebounds and 10 assists.

A skilled passer from afar

Not everything was perfect. With 8/19 shots, including 3/9 from distance, she lacked precision and also lost five balls in the first eight minutes of the match. This showed signs of frustration on the part of the player, who complained a great deal to the refereeing body, to the point where she was reprimanded by… her own father, who was present in the stands.

A strong character, underneath a calm and imperturbable appearance, just like the French player Marine Johannes, who also earns her a nice comparison with Stephen Curry. An adept of the fast game and an incredible passer like the Golden State Warriors’ star player, the player has surpassed the latter’s record for the most 3 points scored in a college season.

Validated by Stephen Curry

This Monday, March 25, the Iowa player led her team in the Sweet Sixteen with a 64-54 triumph over West Virginia. The best scorer in the history of the NCAA women’s circuit scored 32 points alone in the victory. She thus added her name to the record books with 1 111 points scored in a season, surpassing Kelsey Plum’s mark (1 109). The winning team will face fifth-seeded Colorado in the next round. ” She’s inescapable “, recently declared Stephen Curry, who refers to Clark’s outside shot as a ” superpower. “

Lire aussi :  {:fr}En direct : CRBT vs. USFAS, Mali Ligue 1 Orange / J4 (Hommes){:}{:en}Live: CRBT vs. USFAS in Mali Ligue 1 Orange / J4 (Men){:}

Standing at 83 meters tall and weighing 70 kg, Clark discreetly and humbly makes her mark. ” She’s not afraid of anything, adds the best 3 point shooter in the history of the NBA.We know it’s all about her, but she’s doing a great job scoring a lot of points, while playing a creative and distributive role. No shot is bad when you can shoot as well as she “.

It sells

” When you watch Iowa play, she adds an element of surprise that you can’t really predict. As soon as she crosses half the court, she can trigger “, continues the playmaker. The rising American star doesn’t just add her touch on the parquet floors, but also in the stands. She is, in fact, the reason why tickets for the women’s Final Four sold six times more than those for the men’s Final Four.

All Iowa games were sold out this year, home and away. Ticket prices soared to over $400 per game. Celebrities like Travis Scott traveled to Iowa, to watch it play, reports L’Équipe .

” The difference with last year is that now everyone has heard about Clark’s exploits, slips Dave Gallagher, match announcer at the University of Iowa. We weren’t as strong in the past. She’s taken the university to a whole new level “. Seats also sold for up to $2 000 dollars ($1 800 €) on the black market. The match against Ohio on March 3 (the day she broke the points record) was seen by 3.4 million people, unheard of in 25 years in the regular season. ” It’s one of those historic moments when you have a player who gives you the opportunity to enter a new dimension, comments Kerry Kenny, director of operations for the Big Ten, a conference bringing together the best of the American West. The audiences and engagement are up on our platforms and across all our TV partners (CBS, FOX and NBC). The entire Big Ten is benefiting, and women’s basketball in general.

Lire aussi :  {:fr}En direct : CRBT vs. USFAS, Mali Ligue 1 Orange / J4 (Hommes){:}{:en}Live: CRBT vs. USFAS in Mali Ligue 1 Orange / J4 (Men){:}

An Olympic player?

The not-yet-graduate would have earned over $3 million in sponsorship in 2023 (€2.70 M), a deal made possible by the recent NIL Act, which allows college athletes to market their image. As part of the deal, Clark and South Carolina goalkeeper Zia Cooke have partnered with H & R Block on a program called Fair Shot, for which the company will commit $1 million in an attempt to bridge the gap between the men’s and women’s game. Likewise with equipment manufacturer Gainbridge.

See this publication on Instagram: A publication shared by Gainbridge Sports (@gainbridgesport)

” That’s one of our goals, of course, we want to raise awareness of the sport, and I think that’s also what H & R Block is doing with this campaign, really trying to give all women a chance. It’s something I’m passionate about, Clark told Sporting News. I wanted a packed house to support the women basketball players. That’s what my teammates wanted too. Seeing this project come to fruition is also very encouraging “.

Announced as the first pick in next season’s WNBA draft, Caitlin Clark will be competing in the play-offs and thus aiming for one last trophy, after the one missed in 2023, before tipping over into the professional world.

Until then, rumor has it he’ll be representing Team USA at the Paris Olympics. ” I’d love to go to France one day. It’s crazy to see my impact at world level. That’s my dream,” she concludes. She already knows about national selection. Caitlin Clark won three gold medals with the United States at international level as a youngster. She was named MVP of the 19 years and under World Cup. And that’s not all.


Ouest-France

Facebook Comments
coinpayu
Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Les plus populaires

To Top

NCAAW

« Elle n’a peur de rien » : Caitlin Clark, l’étoile montante du basket amĂ©ricain, bat tous les records

Clarck 1

Temps de lecture : 11 mn 🕗

La joueuse américaine, Caitlin Clark, continue de faire des étincelles, lors du tournoi final universitaire américain, la March Madness, avant de se préparer à intégrer le circuit professionnel. Description du phénomÚne qui joue tous ses matchs à guichets fermés.

La joueuse de tous les records

Et pour cause : elle est au sommet. DĂ©jĂ  meilleure marqueuse de la NCAA, la meneuse des Hawkeyes de l’Iowa a battu, le 15 fĂ©vrier, le record de points du championnat universitaire amĂ©ricain, hommes et femmes confondus, dĂ©tenu jusque-lĂ  par Pete Maravich (3 667 points). Face Ă  Ohio State (93-83), la joueuse de 22 ans a fait tomber le record de la lĂ©gende de l’universitĂ© de Louisiane, malgrĂ© un match avec un lĂ©ger manque d’adresse (35 points Ă  10/26 au tir).

Lors de la March Madness 2024, tournoi final du basket universitaire amĂ©ricain, Clark a Ă©galement fait parlĂ© d’elle dĂšs le premier tour avec son Ă©quipe d’Iowa State, oĂč elle Ă©volue depuis quatre ans : 27 points, 8 rebonds et 10 passes.

Passeuse et adroite de loin

Tout n’a pas Ă©tĂ© parfait. Avec 8/19 aux tirs dont 3/9 de loin, elle a connu un certain manque de prĂ©cision, et elle a Ă©galement perdu cinq ballons dans les huit premiĂšres minutes de la rencontre. Ce qui a laissĂ© apparaĂźtre certains signes de frustration chez la joueuse, qui s’est beaucoup plainte auprĂšs du corps arbitral au point de se faire recadrer par
 Son propre pĂšre, prĂ©sent en tribunes.

Un caractĂšre bien trempĂ©, sous une apparence calme et imperturbable, Ă  l’image de la joueuse française Marine Johannes, qui lui vaut aussi une belle comparaison avec Stephen Curry. Adepte du jeu rapide et incroyable passeuse comme le joueur star des Golden State Warriors, la joueuse a dĂ©passĂ© le record de ce dernier du plus grand nombre de 3 points inscrits en une saison universitaire.

Validée par Stephen Curry

Ce lundi 25 mars, la joueuse d’Iowa a menĂ© son Ă©quipe dans le Sweet Sixteen en triomphant face Ă  West Virginia au compte de 64-54. La meilleure scoreuse de l’histoire du circuit fĂ©minin de la NCAA a inscrit 32 points Ă  elle seule dans la victoire. Elle a ainsi pu ajouter son nom au livre des records avec 1 111 points inscrits en une saison, surpassant la marque de Kelsey Plum (1 109). L’équipe gagnante affrontera le Colorado, cinquiĂšme tĂȘte de sĂ©rie, au prochain tour. « Elle est incontournable », a rĂ©cemment dĂ©clarĂ© Stephen Curry, qui parle du tir extĂ©rieur de Clark comme d’un « superpouvoir. »

Du haut de son mĂštre 83 et de ses 70 kg, Clark se fait discrĂštement sa place et en toute humilitĂ©. « Elle n’a peur de rien, ajoute le meilleur shooter à 3 points de l’histoire de la NBA. Nous savons que tout tourne autour d’elle, mais elle fait du bon travail en marquant beaucoup de points, tout en jouant un rĂŽle de crĂ©atrice et de distributrice. Aucun tir n’est mauvais quand vous pouvez shooter aussi bien qu’elle ».

Elle fait vendre

« Quand vous regardez jouer Iowa, elle ajoute un Ă©lĂ©ment de surprise que vous ne pouvez pas vraiment prĂ©voir. DĂšs qu’elle traverse la moitiĂ© du terrain, elle peut dĂ©clencher », poursuit le meneur de jeu. L’étoile montante amĂ©ricaine n’ajoute pas seulement son grain de sel sur les parquets mais aussi en tribunes. Elle est, en effet, la raison pour laquelle les billets pour le Final Four fĂ©minin se sont vendus six fois plus que ceux pour le Final Four masculin.

Tous les matchs d’Iowa ont Ă©tĂ© jouĂ©s Ă  guichets fermĂ©s cette annĂ©e, Ă  domicile comme Ă  l’extĂ©rieur. Les prix des billets se sont envolĂ©s jusqu’à dĂ©passer la barre des 400 dollars pour un match. Des cĂ©lĂ©britĂ©s comme Travis Scott se sont dĂ©placĂ©es dans l’Iowa, pour la regarder jouer, rapporte L’Équipe .

« La diffĂ©rence avec l’an dernier, c’est que dĂ©sormais tout le monde a entendu parler des exploits de Clark, glisse Dave Gallagher, speaker des matches Ă  l’universitĂ© d’Iowa. On n’était pas aussi forts par le passĂ©. Elle a amenĂ© l’universitĂ© Ă  un tout autre niveau ». Des places se sont Ă©galement revendues jusqu’à 2 000 dollars (1 800 €) au marchĂ© noir. La rencontre face Ă  Ohio le 3 mars (jour oĂč elle a battu le record de points) a Ă©tĂ© vue par 3,4 millions de personnes, jamais-vu depuis 25 ans en saison rĂ©guliĂšre. « Ça fait partie de ces moments historiques oĂč vous avez une joueuse qui vous donne l’opportunitĂ© d’entrer dans une nouvelle dimension, commente Kerry Kenny, directeur des opĂ©rations du Big Ten, confĂ©rence regroupant les meilleurs de l’Ouest amĂ©ricain. Les audiences et l’engagement sont en hausse sur nos plateformes et chez tous nos partenaires tĂ©lĂ© (CBS, FOX et NBC). Tout le Big Ten en profite, et tout le basket fĂ©minin en gĂ©nĂ©ral ».

Une joueuse olympique ?

Celle qui n’est mĂȘme pas encore diplĂŽmĂ©e aurait touchĂ© plus de 3 millions de dollars de sponsoring en 2023 (2,70 M€), un deal rendu possible grĂące Ă  la rĂ©cente loi NIL, qui permet aux athlĂštes universitaires de commercialiser leur image. Dans le cadre de cet accord, Clark et la gardienne de la Caroline du Sud Zia Cooke se sont associĂ©es Ă  H & R Block pour un programme appelé Fair Shot, pour lequel l’entreprise engagera 1 million de dollars pour tenter de combler le fossĂ© entre le jeu masculin et le jeu fĂ©minin. De mĂȘme avec l’équipementier Gainbridge.

Voir cette publication sur Instagram : Une publication partagée par Gainbridge Sports (@gainbridgesport)

« C’est l’un de nos objectifs, bien sĂ»r, nous voulons sensibiliser davantage au sport, et je pense que c’est aussi ce que fait H & R Block avec cette campagne, en essayant vraiment de donner une chance Ă  toutes les femmes. C’est quelque chose qui me passionne, a dĂ©clarĂ© Clark au Sporting News. Je voulais une salle comble pour soutenir les joueuses de basket-ball. C’est ce que mes coĂ©quipiĂšres voulaient aussi. Le fait de voir ce projet se concrĂ©tiser est Ă©galement trĂšs encourageant ».

Annoncé comme le premier choix de la draft WNBA de la saison prochaine, Caitlin Clark disputera les play-offs et visera donc un dernier trophée, aprÚs celui manqué en 2023, avant de basculer dans le monde professionnel.

D’ici lĂ , la rumeur l’envoie reprĂ©senter Team USA aux Jeux olympiques de Paris. « J’adorerais aller en France un jour. C’est fou de voir mon impact au niveau mondial. C’est mon rĂȘve », conclut-elle. Les sĂ©lections nationales, elle connaĂźt dĂ©jĂ . Caitlin Clark a remportĂ© trois mĂ©dailles d’or avec les États-Unis au niveau international en jeunes. Elle a Ă©tĂ© nommĂ©e MVP de la Coupe du monde des 19 ans et moins. Rien que ça.


Ouest-France

Facebook Comments
coinpayu
Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Les plus populaires

To Top